Tom Latham can see the future (+ video)

Tom Latham, Timelord

That is the only half-decent explanation for this catch.

Far and away our favourite part of this footage is seeing Bruce Oxenford visibly embarking upon a gasp towards the end.

Even as the ball was en route to bat, Latham was off and running. We don’t know how many times he stopped time and rewound it before he got this right.

We’d guess one million times.

Share this article...Email this to someoneTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0

Tired of checking the site for updates? Sign up for our near-daily email

7 Appeals

  1. First Murray Mints, and now time bending superpowers. Cricket needs to put a stop to this sort of thing.

  2. Very interesting this. There is a specific rule covering this circumstance, which from memory is Law 41 section 7 subsection iii:

    41:7. Movement by fielders other than the wicket-keeper

    Any movement by any fielder, excluding the wicket-keeper, after the ball comes into play and before the ball reaches the striker, is unfair except for the following:

    (iii) movement by any fielder in response to the stroke that the striker is playing or that his actions suggest he intends to play.

    So while the movement itself ought clearly to have resulted in the umpire calling dead ball, he got away with it because in the judgement of the umpire he demonstrated clairvoyance.

    This is one of several laws of the game that deal explicitly with the use of magic on the pitch. Law sqrt(2) outlaws the use of telekinesis in the field, and I well recall Peter Willey in a tour match in Pakistan being given out bowled when the bails were dislodged via a voodoo doll arrangement in a house in Rawalpindi. If only DRS had been available (decision review seance).

  3. Australia are collapsing and once again all is right with the world.

Comments are closed.

© 2017 King Cricket

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑