Misbah-ul-Haq run out failing to ground his bat

Or himself for that matter. If you didn’t see Misbah-ul-Haq getting run out for 82, you’ll get an idea as to what happened from the accompanying picture.

Conspicuously not groundedMisbah was about to make his ground after a quickish single. The throw came in from Dinesh Karhik at backward point and Misbah jumped to avoid the ball. Unfortunately, this meant that he was airborne as he crossed the popping crease. If you don’t ground your bat or some part of yourself the other side of that line, then you haven’t made your ground. The ball hit the stumps and Misbah was out.

He knew instantly and proceeded to angrily swipe his bat at the tips of the grass, which is the least satisfying outlet for pent-up rage in the whole world. After returning to the pavilion, Misbah presumably found something more substantial to punish for his own mental aberration.

There are so many ways to get out. You always have to be on your guard. Mentally, Misbah had already made his ground – he was just evading a cricket ball. Unfortunately, mentally making your ground doesn’t cut it with the third umpire.

Poor sod.

Share this article...Email this to someoneTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0

*** Asterisk-powered reminder that you can and should sign up to receive our email ***

11 Appeals

  1. If he’d not jumped and the ball had hit him, would he have been out obstructing the field?

  2. King Cricket

    November 23, 2007 at 10:39 am

    No. It’s pretty much standard practice to get in the way of fielders’ returns to be honest. It seems to be that as long as you’re being hit by the ball rather than hitting it, you’re okay.

    A case could probably be made, but that’s the way it works in practice.

  3. Oh I see. Why didn’t he do that then instead of jumping and leaving space for the ball to hit the stumps? Was it to avoid the possibility of getting hurt by the ball?

  4. King Cricket

    November 23, 2007 at 11:28 am

    Our theory is that he was going to make his ground so easily, he hadn’t considered himself under threat, so he chose to spurn the safety bruise.

    You’ll have to ask Misbah though.

  5. Oh, I will. If he ever returns my calls, that is.

  6. Truly a run-out worthy of Inzy himself. I wonder if they’re related?

  7. Is he still Misbah cricket?

  8. King Cricket

    November 24, 2007 at 9:07 am

    Not sure. We’re going to leave it unsaid and see what the comments throw up.

  9. I’m so torn re the name. He’s playing like a Misbah Cricket, but then he goes and gets out in the manner of an Ul Haq.

  10. I think it was funny

  11. From the horses mouth:

    Of course you should have reached three figures in Delhi during the first Test but on 82 you jumped in the air trying to evade the run out attempt from Dinesh Karthik?

    “That was a shocking time for me. It all happened so quickly and I just jumped and realised straight away that I had made a mistake. It’s a really bad memory. I felt at the time that it may cost us the Test match because of the way me and Sami were playing at the time we could have added another 70 or 80 runs. That was a big regret, more for letting my team down than missing the hundred.”

    http://www.bigstarcricket.com/bs/interviews/article_3229.shtml

Comments are closed.

© 2017 King Cricket

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑