What does Dhoni’s incorrect dismissal tell us?

Keep it on t'deck, MS

Dhoni was caught off Fidel Edwards, but umpire Iain Gould thought it was a no-ball and asked the third umpire for confirmation. It was a no-ball, but the broadcaster showed the third umpire the wrong footage and Dhoni was wrongly given out.

What does this tell us?

It tells us that you shouldn’t chip the ball to mid-off.

Hey you!

Can't be bothered checking King Cricket for updates?

We can come to you...

Get our articles by email (this is the best option)

Get our fortnightly email newsletter

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Facebook

5 Appeals

  1. Hold on…there’s something called a ‘manifesto’ on the right hand side of the screen. It doesn’t look like an ad. Has it always been there?

    Seems dangerously close to having ‘opinions’ to me…

  2. Actually, Dhoni SHOULD HAVE chipped the ball to mid-off. It was vacant.

    He was caught at mid-on.

  3. ICC press release:
    “Had the UDRS equipment been deployed, its invisible raditation would have deflected MS Dhoni’s chip shot towards the vacant mid-off.”

  4. It also tells us that if Dhoni screws with the umpires (using subtle barbs about returning early to the hotel) English newspapers like the Guardian and Telegraph will highlight the atrocity in gory detail.

    But if the umpires or the broadcaster screw Dhoni or his boys, it shall not get reported. As a result of an “honest mistake.”

  5. It tells us that technology really does have a mind of its own, as well as a sense of humour.

Comments are closed.

© 2020 King Cricket

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑